

# POTTSTOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING December 7, 2023

The Re-Organization Meeting for the Board of School Directors of the Pottstown School District was held on Thursday, December 7, 2023 at 6:35 PM in the Conference Room at the Administration Building with President, Ms. Katina Bearden presiding. Upon roll call, the following members were present: Mr. John Armato, Mr. Kurt Heidel, Mr. Thomas Hylton, Mrs. Laura Johnson, Mr. Steve Kline, Mrs. Susan Lawrence Mrs. Phoebe Kancianic and Mrs. Deborah Spence. Also present were Superintendent, Mr. Stephen Rodriguez; Business Administrator, Mrs. Maureen Oakley; Director of Human Resources, Mr. Matthew Boyer; Solicitor, Mr. Stephen Kalis.

### **MINUTES**

Mrs. Oakley presented the minutes from the Regular Board meeting held on November 16, 2023 for Board approval.

## **HEARINGS FROM PATRONS OF THE SCHOOLS (general)**

None

#### **BOARD ACTION: Minutes**

It was moved by Mr. Hylton and seconded by Mrs. Lawrence that the Board approve the minutes from November 2023. All were in favor. Motion carried.

### **ADJOURN SINE DIE**

It was moved by Mr. Armato and seconded by Mr. Heidel that the Board adjourn. All in Favor. Motion carried

#### **BOARD RE-ORGANIZATION**

#### **Notice of the Organization Meeting**

Mrs. Oakley affirmed the Re-organization meeting was advertised as part of the 2023 Board meeting advertised on January 20, 2023 in the local newspaper.

Motion for roll call of all (hold over) Board members present: Mr. Armato; Mr. Heidel; Mrs. Kancianic; Mrs. Spence

### Nominations and Election of Temporary Chairperson

Mrs. Oakley called for the nominations of a Temporary Chairperson.

Mr. Heidel nominated Mr. Armato.

There were no further nominations for a Temporary Chairperson. Asked for roll call vote of all (hold over) Board members to close and nominate a temporary chairperson. All in Favor. Motion carried.

Mr. Armato was elected Temporary Chairperson

#### **OATH OF OFFICE**

Mrs. Katina Beardon, Mrs. Laura Johnson; Mrs. Susan B Lawrence, Mr. Steven Kline, Mr. Thomas Hylton

### **REVIEW OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION**

Municipal General Election Results of November 7, 2023.

Mrs. Katina Beardon - Total 2,491

Mrs. Laura Johnson – Total 2,429

Mrs. Susan B Lawrence - Total 2,366

Mr. Steven Kline – Total 2,257

Mr. Thomas Hylton – Total 2,136

Motion for roll call of all members: Mr. Armato, Mrs. Bearden, Mr. Heidel, Mr. Hylton, Mrs. Kancianic, Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Kline, Mrs. Lawrence and Mrs. Spence. Nine present we have a corium.

### **Nominations and Election of Board President**

Mr. Armato called for nominations for Board President.

Mr. Hylton nominated Mrs. Bearden.

There were no further nominations for the Office of Board President. Asked for a roll call vote to close and nominate the Board President. All members voted aye to close the nominations and vote for the Office of President. None opposed. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote, all members present voted to elect Mrs. Bearden as Board President. Mr. Armato, aye; Mrs. Bearden, aye; Mrs. Heidel, aye; Mrs. Hylton, aye; Mrs. Kancianic, aye; Mrs. Johnson, aye; Mrs. Kline, aye; Mrs. Lawrence, aye; and Mrs. Spence, nay: Eight. Ayes, One. Nah. Motion carried.

Mrs. Bearden was declared the Board President.

### Nominations and Election of Vice-President

Mrs. Bearden called for nominations for Board Vice-President.

Mr. Hylton nominated Mr. Kline.

There were no further nominations for the Office of Vice-President. Asked for a roll call vote to close and nominate the Board Vice-President. All members voted age to close the nominations and vote for the Office of Vice-President. None opposed. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote, all members present voted to elect Mr. Kline as Board Vice-President. Mrs. Johnson, aye; Mr. Heidel, aye; Mr. Hylton, aye; Mrs. Kancianic, aye; Mr. Kline, aye; Mrs. Spence, nay; Mrs. Lawrence, aye; Mrs. Bearden, aye; Mr. Armato, aye: Eight. Ayes, One. Nah. Motion carried.

Mr. Kline was declared the Board Vice-President.

### **Parliamentarian Procedures**

Appointment of Parliamentarian/Approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure

It was moved by Mr. Hylton and second by Mrs. Kancianic that the Board approve the solicitor as Parliamentarian and approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure.

Eight members were in favor. One opposed. Motion carried.

#### SIGNATURE STAMP

No motion needed – Board names remain the same.

#### **Committee Appointments for 2024**

Mrs. Bearden asked that Board Members contact her any committee assignment preferences. Committee appointments and structure will be determined at the January Board Workshop.

### **BOARD MEETINGS/COMMITTEE MEETINGS 2024**

The Board Secretary presented dates and a copy will be filed in the Secretary's office as **Addendum** #2023-2024-044.

#### **INFORMATION**

- Committee meetings immediately follow the Reorganization meeting:
  - o Policy/Personnel Committee
  - o Curriculum Committee
- Regular Board Meeting: December 21, 2023

### **ROUND TABLE**

Mrs Spence – Would like to see radical change, need a refreshment to make changes and updates.

Mr. Heidel – Congratulations to Board President and Vice-President and is looking forward to New Year.

Mrs. Johnson – Congratulations to Board President and Vice-President and is looking forward serve with the Board.

Mrs. Lawrence – Congratulations to Board President and Vice-President and is looking forward to serve with the Board.

Mr. Armato – Congratulations to Board President and Vice-President. Feels Board has worked together well even with agreeing and Disagreeing at times but are all in for the success of our students.

Mrs. Kancianic – Looking forward to this year. Everyone worked hard this past year and always keep in mind it is all about helping our students.

Mrs. Bearden – Understands and agree at times when you are not aware of other journeys or actions of Board members present or current usually it's a misinterpretation you don't know what you don't know until you don't know it.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

It was moved by Mrs. Johnson and seconded by Mrs. Lawrence that the meeting adjourns. All members voted were in favor. None opposed. The meeting adjourned at 7:00 pm.

Maureen Oakley Board Secretary

llaun Oakky

32